From a CS Degree to Politics and the Washington Post

College students and new grads, now more than ever, seek mission-driven careers that align with their values. As I worked through my Wallbreakers homework and sifted through job applications last summer, the issue I cared about most was the 2020 presidential election. I hadn't taken a single political science course in college and everything I knew about political campaigns came from the TV show, The West Wing. I wasn't sure how - as a computer science grad - I could make a difference.

That August, I moved to South Bend, Indiana, and joined Team Innovation on Pete For America, Pete Buttigieg's presidential campaign. I'll share my experience working on the campaign - at national headquarters as a data engineer, and as deputy data director in New Hampshire, talk about how technology fits into progressive politics, tell you how you can get involved (as a campaign staffer or a volunteer), and maybe spread some #friendship2020 joy with pictures I took with Elizabeth Warren's dog.

When? May 20th at 6pm MST/5 pm PST/8 pm EST

Rsvp: contact@wallbreakers.com to receive the zoom invite

Calla Carter is a data engineer on The Washington Post's data science and AI team. She graduated in 2018 with a bachelor's degree in computer science from Bryn Mawr College, where she was president and founder of Sudo Hoot, the college's computer science student organization. Throughout her academic career, she worked at Google, Disney, and several government organizations in software, analytics, and operational roles. Until March, she served on Pete Buttigieg's 2020 presidential campaign as a national data engineer and New Hampshire deputy data director.

Join me to talk of all things startup this coming Wednesday:

Register Here